E3 2015: The Best of The Rest

e3primer6-864x1024Here’s a few final tidbits on some of the other stuff from this year’s E3 that I’ve yet to offer an opinion on:

  • The Last Guardian is a tricky one. I can’t help but feel that the end product won’t offer the kind of dynamic interaction with your beast/pet thing that people are expecting, but rather involve  simply triggering pre-scripted behaviors to solve linear, one solution problems. It’ll be pleasing to see it on store shelves after all these years in development, though, in any case.
  • My interest in the Assassin’s Creed series has peaked and troughed over the years, largely based on how interested I am each one’s setting. As such, Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate has the superlative good fortune of being set in a fascinating Industrial Revolution era London. I’m hardly patriotic, but the idea of standing atop Big Ben surveying an intricately detailed, soot-stained, smoke-charred vision of our capital with the freedom to explore it as I see fit has me more enthusiastic about the series than ever before. Don’t disappoint me, Ubisoft.
  • Metroid Fusion: Federation Force has received something of a mixed reception, with disappointed Metroid fans even going as far as to start a petition to have it cancelled. I think Nintendo are aiming for a handheld take on Destiny’s raids, and that they may actually be onto a winner here. After all,  the success of the Monster Hunter series proves that there is an appetite for online co-op among 3DS owners.
  • Horizon: Zero Dawn seems like a cross between the movie 10,000 BC, Metal Gear and the Dinobots from Transformers. Whether it’ll offer anything new, or simply expect to get by on a strong setting and aesthetic, will be the clincher.
  • Shenmue finally getting a threequal is good news, I suppose, but I feel like the only old-school SEGA fan in the world right now that has no intention of playing it. Yeah, I had a Dreamcast, but in so far as I could see at the time, the original game was basically just playing out some ’80s Japanese dude’s life. I don’t think I could possibly put into words how boring that sounds.
  • Destiny: The Taken King may offer much in the way of changes and new content, but to bring yourself up to speed from vanilla Destiny is going to be rather costly. My prediction is that, like Call of Duty DLC, fans will lap it up but everybody else will stay well clear; ergo, I don’t expect The Taken King to win Destiny any new converts. At this point, only a full sequel with completely revised mechanics could bring those put off by the endless grind back into the fold.
  • Despite me considering the original Deus Ex to be the single greatest gaming experience of my life, I paid little attention to  Deus Ex: Mankind Divided. Predecessor, Human Revolution, shared almost nothing with Ion Storm’s masterpiece save for its hallowed name, and was, well, just a little bit dull. Squeenix have yet to give me any compelling reason to believe things will be  different this time around.

Phew. This year’s E3 has been one for the history books. I’m almost ashamed to admit that I wasn’t actually expecting much this time around, but Sony and Microsoft in particular have both upped their games considerably, no pun intended. Nintendo tanked spectacularly, but all eyes will be on them next year, as the world will be holding its breath to see just what they’ve been cooking up behind closed doors with their ‘NX’ hardware. The stakes have never been higher.

Leave a Reply

